Skip to content

Minerals

2013-February-7

My name is Jo Edkins. If you have any comments, criticisms, corrections or questions, please contact me – see index page.

I have been collecting minerals and rocks for several years, by buying them from shops rather than going on field trips. To start with, I liked their colours and shapes, but as I found out more about them, I became fascinated by their history, their use in technology, even their names.

Malachite I hope these pages will be useful to schools, both primary and secondary. I have tried to arrange the information in a clear and simple way, with lots of cross references and pictures. The index gives the minerals by groups, such as metal ores or jewelry. However, all the minerals are also on the alphabetical minerals list, which gives small pictures and links to each page. I have not included all possible information on the minerals. This is easily available in books, and if I copied it all out, I’d just make mistakes. Also long lists of information get rather boring. However, if a mineral has an interesting property, such as lead being heavy, or malachite being botryoidal, or calcite’s cleavage planes, then I say so, and describe what it means. There’s a glossary giving links to these descriptions.

From → Blogroll, jewerly

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

